Panoramas

I’ve taken panoramas before this assignment, but no matter how many times I try, they don’t seem to turn out right.  I think the problem is a lack of patience.  I don’t have patience to get out the tripod and set it up.  I don’t have patience to carefully measure the exposure for each shot so they will blend easily when I stitch them together.   I think there is also a technical aspect that I don’t understand in matching the angles of the various shots to form a seamless image.  I suppose I’ll have to do some research and more practice later.

One successful thing about this assignment was my experimentation with vertical panoramas.  I had never thought of making a vertical panorama before, so I tried a couple (the wine bottle with dried flowers and the pine trees), and I think those are the best of the lot.  The sunsets look decent too, but I don’t think they are as good as they could be.

After all of these, I wanted to try one more idea for a panorama.  I went to the top level of Kellogg Library and setup my tripod in the middle of bookshelves.  I took enough pictures for a 360-degree view.  In fact, I think I took too many pictures.  They were a pain to put together in Photoshop, and they didn’t all match up very well, even with the tripod.  The overall effect is what I wanted though.  The final picture in this post is the result.  Click to view the full size image, and make sure it is displayed at actual size so you can pan across it.  It’s pretty cool, if I may say so.

 

Leave a comment